Conservation Board

The Linn County Conservation Board, as well as the other 98 county conservation boards in the state of Iowa, is possible because of the County Conservation Law passed by the Iowa State Legislature in 1955.  That law, Chapter 350 of the Code of Iowa, gave counties the ability to create a county conservation board.  The program is intended to acquire, develop, maintain, and make available museums, parks, preserves, recreational centers, forests, wildlife and other conservation areas, in order to promote the health and general welfare of the people, encourage the conservation of natural resources, to cultivate good citizenship by providing programs of public recreation and for participation in watershed, drainage, and floor control programs for the purpose of increasing the recreational resources in the county.

Under the jurisdiction of the Code of Iowa, the Linn County Conservation Board was established by popular vote in 1958.  The role of the Conservation Board is to provide general oversight and make policy decisions to direct the conservation program.  Board members are appointed by the Linn County Board of Supervisors to staggered five-year terms. The 2013 Conservation Board Members and their positions on the Board are as follows:

George Kanz, President
Kristin Eschweiler, Vice-President
Hillary Hughes, Secretary
Steve Emerson, Member
Cindy Burke, Member

Conservation Board meetings are usually held the fourth Monday of each month at 4 p.m. at Wickiup Hill Learning Center in Toddville (10260 Morris Hills Rd) and are open to the public.

Your county conservation program is supported by a property tax levy through the board of supervisors. In addition, user fees, state and federal grants, as well as gifts and donations are used to supplement the budget. The variety of activities and areas available makes enjoyment of the outdoors possible for people of all ages and interests. As a resident of Linn County, these areas are yours to use and enjoy as often as you like!

Click here to review board documents.

Former Conservation Board Members are:
*Charter Board Members
*John Welter, 1959-64, C.R.
*E.J. Petranek, 1959-61, C.R.
*J. Harold Ennis, 1959-65, Mt. Vernon
*John Wagor, 1959-67, Central City
*Rex Conn, 1959,C.R.
*John Ashlock, 1960-67, Center Point
Roland Roupe, 1962, C.R.
Richard Alexander, 1962-76, Marion
Lloyd Jones, 1964-68, Center Point
Kenneth Marsh, 1964-75, C.R.
Leoral C. Evans, 1965-72, Mt. Vernon
William Cooper, 1967-74,CentralCity
Harry Brookman, 1969-73, Center Point
Baird A. King, 1973-77, C.R.
Tom Neenan, 1974-83, Center Point
Jeanne Andrea, 1975-82, Marion
David Lyon, 1976-80; 82-86, Mt. Vernon
Floyd Clark, 1977-79, Marion
Robert T. Olson, 1978-79; 82-86, C.R.
Roger A. Dochtermann, 1979-82, C.R.
Michael Gibney, 1981-82, Palo
James J. Burke, 1982-88, C.R.
Willard Ewart, 1984-93, Springville
Robert A. Beresford, 1986-90, Troy Mills
Richard A. Fultz, 1986-92, C.R.
Arlene Blazek, 1987-91, Mt. Vernon
Carl Means, 1990-94, C.R.
Arleta Carr, 1991-95, C.R.
Don Weimer, 1993-97, C.R.
Dennis Schlicht, 1994-98, Center Point
James Bailey, 1995-99, C.R.
Shearon Elderkin, 1998 -2002, C.R.
Richard Heft, 1999 -2003, C.R.
John Lindstrom, 2000 -2004, C.R.
Lynn Millard, 1996 -2005, Marion
Karla Gibson, 1992 -2006, Marion
John Morris, 2003 -2007, C.R.
George Kanz, 2004 -2008, C.R.
Ray Dochterman, 2005 -2009, Marion
Diane Handler, 2006 -2010, C.R.
Cindy Burke, 2007 – 2011, Central City
Tom Peffer, 2008 – 2012, Cedar Rapids
Lu Barron, 2009 – 2013, Cedar Rapids
Mike Wyrick, 2010-2014, Cedar Rapids